music and snow.

It snowed here in Georgia this week. It seems snow has become a yearly tradition now. I don’t mind the snow in December for some reason. Probably because it hardly ever snows here in December. At a time, I loved snow and would pray for it every time there was the slightest possibility that it might snow, no matter what time of the year.

This all changed this year. It has snowed many times from January-March, and now it’s snowed in December. This marks four months that this state has seen snow. As the great Southern chef Art Smith said, when describing his fried chicken, “Something ain’t special if you get it all the time.” I realize that just having it snow several times  a year would still qualify as special, but to me it isn’t. Once every 3-4 years is special. Snow has lost its luster for me. Well, at least this year. It could redeem itself, though. If only it were to snow here on Christmas Eve, then all would be right in the world.

Speaking of all being right in the world, I’ve been caught up lately reading and listening to NPR’s All Song’s Considered. It’s quite the delight. I recommend checking out their show, which can be downloaded as a Podcast; as well as taking a look at their blog.

As for me, I’m currently listening to:

  • James Brown: Funky Christmas
    Christmas + Funk + JAMES BROWN! = pretty spectacular! I mean, how can you go wrong with the Godfather of Soul! Be sure to check out “Merry Christmas, I love you”, “Soulful Christmas”, and “Please Come Home For Christmas”.
  • Kanye West: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
    I’m just getting into this, but I’m liking it so far!
  • Sufjan Stevens: The Age of Adz
    Much different from his  previous albums, but good. The more I listen to it, the more I like it. I saw Stevens in concert last month (The Tabernacle, Atlanta, GA), and it was impressive. He played most of this album and a few of his earlier hits. This album will make you want to dance. “Too Much”, “Vesuvius”, “I Walked”, and “Get Real Get Right” are all wonderful.
  • Peter Wolf Crier: Inter-Be
    What can be said about this? I love it. It’s just duo Peter Pisano and Brian Moen: A guitarist and a drummer. In terms of duos, this one nails it. I saw Peter Wolf Crier in June (The Mercury Lounge, New York, NY), and I was immediately hooked. “Crutch and Crane”, “Hard as Nails”, “Down Down Down”, and “Untitled 101” are my favorites.
One Response to “music and snow.”

  1. christmas snow. « no alarms and no surprises Says:

    […] wrote in a previous post that something that occurs all too often isn’t special. I was referring to snow in Georgia […]

Leave a Reply

