days 2 and 3 results.

Days 2 and 3 proved uneventful. Breakfasts were Kamut with flaxseed meal on day 2, and steel cut oats with flaxseed meal on day 3.

Lunch on day 2 was whole wheat angel hair pasta with Newman’s Own Sockarooni pasta sauce, I also had field peas and 1/2 ear of corn on the cob. Lunch on day 3 was the same pasta and sauce combo with black beans and an assortment of raw vegetables (tomatoes, celery, carrots, and cucumbers).

Dinner on day 2 was brown rice topped with black beans, a huge salad, and steamed broccoli. Dinner on day 3 was whole wheat pasta mixed with brussel sprouts, broccoli, and spinach, topped with marinated artichoke hearts and about 2 tablespoons of the aforementioned pasta sauce (it’s a great sauce!). I also had a huge salad before day 3’s dinner as well.

My snacks have varied depending on what I was craving. On day 2 I had an apple, baked corn chips, and 1/2 cup of salsa. On day 3 I had an apple, a piece of Ezekiel 4:9 bread topped with peanut butter and a banana, and a few cups of popcorn.

Overall, I’ve lost a pound a day since going vegan. This is in spite of nearly doubling my daily intake of carbohydrates. I am eating until I feel full. A goal of mine has always been to slow down while I eat and it seems this is almost required when eating whole grains. I cannot speed my way through steel cut oats or brown rice even if I wanted to. One thing that has really helped me is that I started off the week by going shopping. Because I have quite a few foods to choose from I do not feel limited in my dietary choices. I have plenty of options for meals and snacks, which I think is necessary when beginning any changes to one’s diet. It’s much easier to resist the whole milk when I have soy milk (which, by the way, I love!). It also doesn’t hurt that whole grains are stacked with fiber – thus, making me fill full on less. Another thing that has helped me has been drinking lots and lots of water. Water combined with the fiber really fills you up.

I’ll probably post my results for a few more days and then once weekly from then on out. The point of this blog isn’t necessarily to chronicle my dietary choices, but also to allow me to ramble about other things as well. Thanks for reading!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “days 2 and 3 results.”

  1. the quitter’s almanac. « no alarms and no surprises Says:

    […] made things difficult was the absence of quality or really delicious vegan food in my house. I had mentioned before the importance of having a well-stocked kitchen, and I think it’s really helpful to have many […]

Leave a Reply

