laura gibson: my latest musical discovery

Laura Gibson (2)

Further adding to my already enormous affection for the Portland, Oregon music scene is singer and musician Laura Gibson. I’m not sure how I found out about her, but I think it may have been Pandora’s hit-or-miss system that played Gibson based off of my fondness for The Decemberists. Anyways, Gibson’s latest album, Beasts of Season, released in 2009, is simply a joy to listen to.

My favorite song of hers is “Edelweiss“, released in 2010. This is one of my favorite songs and her version is so beautiful. Her voice is soft and delicate and nothing less than gorgeous. Favorites off of Beasts of Season include:

I recommend giving Ms. Gibson a listen, if you haven’t already. You won’t be disappointed.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

